The European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is a new Community legal instrument at the service of public entities willing to develop projects and activities of common interest in the field of territorial cooperation (interregional, transnational and cross-border), towards the enhancement of economic and social cohesion.

The EGTC is governed by Regulation (EC) No. 1082/2006. Its primary advantage is that it operates as an independent legal personality, which will manage programmes or projects either co-financed or not by the European Union.

An EGTC must be composed of members from at least two Member States belonging to the
following categories:

  • Member States
  • Regional authorities
  • Other public entities or bodies governed by public law

and their associations.

Four main models of EGTC are possible:

  • EGTC in order to implement territorial cooperation programmes (European Territorial
    Cooperation programmes). Example: EGTC as MA and/or JTS of an INTERREG IVA
  • EGTC for implementing co-financed projects in the field of territorial cooperation
    under the Structural Funds (ERDF, ESF, Cohesion Fund). Example: European Territorial
    Cooperation projects (cross-border/transnational/interregional);
  • EGTC for the purpose of carrying out other EU-funded territorial cooperation actions;
  • EGTC in order to implement territorial cooperation actions outside any EU funding.

Programming Period