The INTERREG IVC Programme is dedicated to European interregional cooperation. It helps regions of Europe work together to share their knowledge and experience in order to find innovative improvements for their regional policies. Launched in 2007 the Programme will run until 2013.

The main goal of the Programme is to improve the effectiveness of regional development policies and contribute to the economic modernisation of the European Union. This overall objective should be achieved through the exchange, sharing and transfer of experience, knowledge and good practices. All regions of all EU -27 Member States, Norway and Switzerland participate in the Programme.

The total budget of the Programme amounts to around 405 million euro, of which 321 million euro is Community contribution from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The ERDF co-financing rate for Cyprus for the approved projects is 85%.

The bodies eligible for funding (beneficiaries) under the INTERREG IVC programme are public authorities, local and regional authorities and bodies governed by public law. Other non-EU member states and private bodies can participate in projects at their own cost.

The programme has two main thematic priorities: (1) Innovation and the Knowledge Economy and (2) Environment and Risk Prevention.

The Programme is managed by a Managing Authority supported by a Joint Technical Secretariat, both situated in Lille, France. Four information points for potential applicants also support the management of the programme situate in Rostock, Katowice, Valencia and within the Secretariat in Lille.

Programming Period